We would like to express our sincere gratitude to the following individuals and groups for their important contribution in the development of the Speax: French app.


Game Development Services  

Reptoid Games   
Simon Paquette - Art Direction and Animation
Ryan Miller - Technical Direction and Lead Programming
Jayme Last - Project Management
Emma Burkeitt - 3D and UI Art
Andy Peverley - Programming
Meaghan Peer - Animation
Character Rigging by Twisted Mountain Animation

Speech Technology

Sean Robertson

Data Collection:
Sajad Shirali-Shahreza

Narrative Design 

Stefan Grambart

Project Management

Elsie Goycoolea

Chris Crowell
Crowell Interactive


Audio Design by Level Curve Inc.
Audio Coordination by Tanjah Estelle Karvonen

Voice Actors
Voice of Jacques: Jason Teeuwissen
Marie Joachin
Mélissa Joseph
Walid Hachan
Chrystelle Maechler
Yves-Gérard Méhou-Loko
Samantha Lo
Lucas Poitier
Paul Ruban

Recording studio: Trench Recording Studio


Mobolaji Adeyemi

Gary Yentin
App Promo

Legal services

Norton Rose Fulbright

Speax Advisory Board

Dr. Gerald Penn
Computer Science
University of Toronto

Dr. Joan Netten
Co-founder, The Neurolinguistic Approach (NLA)
Order of Canada

Brian Hedges, CA

Richard Sutin

Emily Lonetto
Clio - Legal Practice Management Software

Dr. Enrica Piccardo
University of Toronto
Université Grenoble-Alpes FRANCE

Dr. Lennart Nacke
Associate Professor
Director of HCI Games Group
University of Waterloo

Garfield Gini Newman
University of Toronto

Lucie Lalumière
Lalumiere Media

Technology Advisors

David Horachek
Sheridan College

William Barry
Sheridan College

We want to thank everyone involved during the alpha and beta testing versions of Speax: French and for all the generous feedback provided. In particular, Dr. Clare Brett and Dr Enrica Piccardo and their graduate students at Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), lawyers at Norton Rose Fulbright,  family and friends of the Speax team, and Dr. Lennart Nacke and his team at the University of Waterloo Games Institute.


We would like to share our appreciation to the following institutions and initiatives for their financial support throughout the project:


Made possible with the support of Ontario Creates

Ontario Creates


Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP)

Ontario Centres of Excellence


Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE)



Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada



We acknowledge the following individuals for their early contributions in programming, art, narrative, and design:

Cole Azevedo
David Evans
Liam Francey
Eric Frech
Brandon Hicks
Brandon Oliver
Ahmad Saad
Catherine Sicot
Rocket 5 Studios


And a special reference to Eddie Faria and his team of students:

Ivan Chan
Santa Norvaisaite
Christy Ma
Joanna Maria
Rita Puhakka
Rush Roque
Lorena Salas
Vincent Salituro
Michel Veniel
Hanchen Yang